The Democracy Barometer was developed as a joint project between the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB) and the Center for Democracy Studies Aarau (ZDA). It emerged from a larger project of the Swiss National Center of Competence in Research (NCCR) “Challenges to Democracy in the 21st Century”.

Over the years, several teams of researchers have worked on the democracy barometer. Past and current project leaders are Wolfgang Merkel, Marc Bühlmann, Daniel Bochsler, Sarah Engler, and Lucas Leemann.

The early phase of the project was generously financed by the NCCR. Since 2018, the Center for Democracy Aarau (ZDA) and the Department of Political Science at the University of Zurich are responsible for the Democracy Barometer.


Version 7 (53 countries):

Project leaders: Sarah Engler, Lucas Leemann, Tarik Abou-Chadi and Heiko Giebler. Team: Korinna Lindemann, Laura-Vanessa Soldner und Virginia Wenger.

Version 2 – Version 6 (70 countries):

Project leaders: Daniel Bochsler and Wolfgang Merkel. Team: Claudia Alpliger, Karima Bousbah, Marc Bühlmann, Alexander Frind, Stefani Gerber, Heiko Giebler, Miriam Hänni, Lea Heyne, Andreas Juon, Ruth Kunz, Werner Krause, Elisa Meister, Lisa Müller, Sarah Ott, Valentina Petrovic, Michelle Roos, Ruth Saskia, Lisa Schädel, Max Schubiger, Dag Tanneberg, Isabel Vollenweider, Bernhard Wessel and David Zumbach.

Version 1 (30 countries):

Project leaders: Marc Bühlmann and Wolfgang Merkel. Team: Lisa Müller, Stefani Gerber, Heiko Giebler, Miriam Hänni, Ruth Kunz, Lisa Schädel, Dag Tanneberg, Max Schubiger, Isabel Vollenweider, Bernhard Wessels, David Zumbach.