Data and Documentation

In this section you are given the possibility to download the data.

Data 2020

Aggregated and standardized Indicators.


Documentation is available here.

Data 2020

Non-aggregated & non-standardized Indicators.


Earlier updates are available here.

Please cite as: Engler, Sarah, Lucas Leemann, Tarik Abou-Chadi, Heiko Giebler, Karima Bousbah, Daniel Bochsler, Marc Bühlmann, Miriam Hänni, Lea Heyne, Andreas Juon, Wolfgang Merkel, Lisa Müller, Saskia Ruth, and Berhard Wessels. (2020). Democracy Barometer. Codebook. Version 7. Aarau: Zentrum der Demokratie.

The 7th version of the Democracy Barometer contains data for the following 53 countries from 1990 to 2017: Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, FR Yugoslavia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Note: In contrast to the previous versions of the Democracy Barometer, we refrain from normalizing the data to a range from 0 to 100. For more information see the Codebook.